All in Sports

Excellence: Abhinav Manota, a migrant, wins national badminton championship

Abhinav Manota, an Indian immigrant who came to New Zealand in 2014, to study Diploma in Business and Enterprise Management (Level 7) from Christchurch-based Abacus Institute of Studies, is now the new Zealand men's singles champion in Badminton. Describing his journey, he said, "Along with my studies, I started playing with Badminton Canterbury players when I was a bit settled in Christchurch. That gave me an opportunity to represent Canterbury in the nationals. Dylan saw my potential and invited me to shift to North Shore so that we can train together. I did. Nowadays, I train at least four hours everyday, and have equipment sponsorship from Badminton New Zealand. Their support in my success has been great."

Sports: Rajesh Nayyar - a doyen of Indian women cricket

A wicket-keeper bat, she was the member of the first Indian women cricket team formed in 1974; then became the coach of the Indian women cricket team in 1989, leading it to the triangular series win in New Zealand in 1995; was also a member of the Women's Cricket Association of India selection committee from 1989 till early 2000s; her latest stint was being a match referee for BCCI since 2006 till 2014; now Ms Nayyar is in Christchurch coaching St Albans [one of the most successful cricket clubs in the City] premier women team.

Christchurch Global Football Festival 2017

The 13th edition of the most-awaited annual sports event for ethnic communities in Christchurch – the Christchurch Global Football Festival – concluded on February 12 with Javidan, a team comprising of expats from Afghanistan, going down to the two-time defending champions Irish Rovers in a nail biting penalty shoot-out. The teams were level at one goal each at the end of the regulation time. The Polish side, Polonez, secured the third spot, Solomon Islands came fourth, while the top six were completed by United Nations (5th), and Canterbury Fiji. Other nationalities represented include Brazil, Argentina, UK, Nepal, Bhutan, South Korea, South Africa, Ethiopia, Samoa, Sudan, Eritrea, Somalia, and of course New Zealand.